lost girls

lostboys04
I couldn’t really find a picture of the girls, which just goes to show my point.

My AppliedAnth project is about the underrepresentation of the “Lost Girls of Sudan”, and helping them become enculturated into the United States via culturally sensitive/specific community centers (hopefully advocating the root of the problems at the refugee camps in Kenya too).  I was a little wary about just focusing on the Lost Girls (which is not really a term used for the girl refugees, but just a reciprocal term of the “Lost Boys of Sudan”, who in turn got their names from the kids in Peter Pan that banded together in Neverland), but when looking up articles in the library, I found out that less than 3% of the U.S. refugees from the 2nd Sudanese war were female.  This was a result of gender stereotypes from the UN — so although the girls were the same age as the boys, they were deemed too young to travel to the United States, and were instead placed in the care of foster parents in the Kakuma Kenya refugee camp (and then those foster parents sold the girls to be slaves, brides, and whatnot so they could feed themselves).  Also, there were not many girls to start out with; they were usually at home when the villages were attacked, and the boys were mostly out herding cattle.  Anyways, not being infinitely filled with knowledge, I had to go “research” it, “research” being wikipediaing a subject, and clicking on the external links at the bottom (I hate skipping all of it because my original project was on Sudanese refugee overcrowding in Chad, but my professor said that was an awfully difficult societal problem to fix don’t you think?).  I finally saw this:

picture-10

I got really excited.  I mean, maybe this could give me resources, literature, media, organizations, specific NGOs, ongoing projects, and I could contact them for more information.  Let’s click on it — maybe there is hope for this community after all.

picture-11

Bitches.

1 Comment

Filed under studying & school

One response to “lost girls

  1. Clearly it is because Refugees International has forgotten about the lost girls of Sudan. Jerks.

Leave a Reply

